skip to Main Content

Governance Council

The Governance Council has final authority for all aspects of the school’s operation and educational program.

zigzag

Anansi Charter School is a New Mexico Public Charter School authorized by the Taos Municipal School District. Our Governance Council serves as the board of directors, and is governed in its operations and its actions by its approved bylaws of the Charter School, which are consistent with the terms of the charter, the Charter Schools Act, and all other applicable laws. The Governance Council has final authority for all aspects of the school’s operation and educational program. The roles and responsibilities of the Governance Council include but are not limited to:

Finance:
Monitor fiscal solvency and management.
Approve budgets/spending and fiscal policies.

Educational Program:
Monitor student performance.
Ensure curriculum aligns with mission.

Personnel:
Hire/fire/evaluate Director.
Approve personnel policies.

Facilities:
Enter into financing and building contracts.
Approve construction and remodeling of facilities.

The Governance Council meets the third Wednesday of each month
(excluding July) at 5:30 pm.


Governance Council 2021-22

President: Jake Caldwell, jcaldwell@anansi.acstaos.org
Vice President: Iris Thornton, ithornton@anansi.acstaos.org
Treasurer: Elaine Taylor, etaylor@anansi.acstaos.org
Secretary: Leilani Dean, ldean@anansi.acstaos.org
Member: Aaron Livingston, alivingston@anansi.acstaos.org
Member: Amy Trevino, atrevino@anansi.acstaos.org
Member: Sophia Seim, sseim@anansi.acstaos.org
Member: Christina Sporrong, csporrong@anansi.acstaos.org
Member: Leslie Mondragon Romero, lmondragon@anansi.acstaos.org

“The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the grandest intention.” — Oscar Wilde