Anansi Charter School - Staff

Staff

Anansi is fortunate to have exceptional teachers and other staff members who are passionate about teaching children. We believe in working as a strong team.

zigzag

 

Staff List & Emails for contacting staff

Kindergarten
Teacher: Blue MacHardy, bmachardy@anansi.acstaos.org

I was born and raised in Taos. I studied education at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque. I taught with Albuquerque Public Schools for five years and then returned to Taos to raise my children near their grandparents. I live with my husband and my two beautiful children. When I am not working I enjoy being with my family, exercising, shopping and reading good books. I love teaching and working with the wonderful children at Anansi Charter School.

 Educational Assistant: Felicity Gallegos-Martinez

First Grade
Teacher: Tammy Dobbs: tdobbs@anansi.acstaos.org

Tammy Dobbs has been with Anansi Charter School since its beginning and has taught for many years. She has taught Kindergarten and is currently teaching First Grade. Her successes as a teacher have been enhanced by her theater background.

Educational Assistant: Paula Medina

Second Grade
Teacher: Mary Bishop, mbishop@anansi.acstaos.org

Third Grade
Teacher: Emily Ross, eross@anansi.acstaos.org

Fourth Grade
Teacher: Kelly Farewell, kfarewell@anansiacstaos.org

Fifth Grade
Teacher: Eva Behrens, ebehrens@anansi.acstaos.org

Eva Behrens enjoys the fifth grade age group and how students are exploring their own ability to research, try out new ways of thinking, and learn independently. She is excited to act as facilitator in their journey toward empowerment and the discovery of new perspectives and concepts.

Sixth Grade
Teacher: Elsbeth Atencio, eatencio@anansi.acstaos.org

Getting to teach Anansi Charter Schools 6th graders is like winning the lottery to Elsbeth. She can't imagine a better way to spend her days. After years of teaching outdoor science classes and park rangering – here in Taos and around the west, Elsbeth is happy to share her experiences and passions with the students of Anansi. Each day, she tries to balance the classroom with loads of fun, plenty of hard work, and a sprinkling of silliness! Besides hanging out with 5th graders, Elsbeth enjoys many things: time with her family, hikes in the mountains, frequent naps, incredible sunsets, and her secret life as a birdwatcher.

Seventh & Eighth Grade
ELA & Social Studies: Conrad Cooper, ccooper@anansi.acstaos.org
Math & Science: Kaila Pavelka Dickey, kdickey@anansi.acstaos.org

Spanish Language grades K-4
Teacher: Margarita Maes Martinez, mmaes@anansi.acstaos.org

Margarita is Native Spanish Language speaker from the Dominican Republic who loves teaching Spanish to students from Kindergarten to 4th Grade.

Spanish Language grades 5-8
Teacher: Philip Handmaker, phandmaker@anansi.acstaos.org

Raised outside of Albuquerque, Philip Handmaker (aka Señor Felipe) heard Spanish a lot as a child and studied it in high school. He earned degrees in Linguistics from the University of California, Santa Cruz and Georgetown University, then worked with indigenous teacher-education programs in Guatemala and Peru. After teaching fifth grade in bilingual immersion schools in Virginia for a few years, he came to New Mexico with his wife Brooke Zanetell and has been teaching Spanish at Anansi since 2005.

Special Education
Teacher: Lisa Woolery, lwoolery@anansi.acstaos.org
Teacher: Nathaniel Kerr, nkerr@anansi.acstaos.org

Enhancement
Teacher: Joelle VanWilligen, jvanwilligen@anansi.acstaos.org

The Gifted Education program at Anansi Charter School serves students in 2nd grade through 8th who have demonstrated an aptitude for needing and or wanting more enrichment. Most of the students who participate have an IEP that has diagnosed them through the State of New Mexico's definition of Gifted Education. The program is designed to provide enriching opportunities for students to explore topics in more depth. Some of the exploration occurs in a pull out setting and some occurs independently in class. 

Arts Facilitator:
Teacher: Leslie Warnick, lwarnick@anansiacstaos.org

Music
Teacher: Philip Handmaker, phandmaker@anansi.acstaos.org

Physical Education:
Teacher: Robert Berkman, rberkman@anansi.acstaos.org

Mr. B teaches physical education, math, and helps out with school maintenance and lunch. These are the perfect jobs for him because he loves, math, fixing things, sports, food, and working with kids.

Reading Coach:
Nancy Stotts, nstotts@anansi.acstaos.org

Nancy works as the Literacy Coach and Interventionist. She loves the chance to work with small groups of children,targeting their specific needs. She also enjoys working closely with teachers and helping out in the classrooms.

Reading Coach Educational Assistant:
Cindy Campbell: ccampbell@anansi.acstaos.org

Cindy supports the instructional needs of the students particularly in the second and third grade classrooms. She enjoys seeing the students’ progress toward becoming fluent readers!

Office Manager:
Tracy Tarleton, ttarleton@anansi.acstaos.org

Tracy enjoys working closely with all the students, teachers, and staff and helping them out with various tasks. She also likes that the staff works together as a team and helps each other out in a time of need.

Administrative Assistant:
Roberta Martinez, rmartinez@anansi.acstaos.org

Director:
Michele Hunt, mhunt@anansi.acstaos.org 

Michele Hunt is one of the co-founders of the Anansi Charter School. She is committed to the ongoing development and learning involved in creating the quality and unique educational opportunities that the Anansi Charter School offers. Michele has degrees and training in early childhood development, elementary education, educational leadership, and more. She loves her work with the children, parents, and staff that make up the Anansi community.

Title IX Contact:
Kaila Paavelka-Dickey, kdickey@anansi.acstaos.org

 IEP Coordinator
Lisa Woolery lwoolery@anansi.acstaos.org

504 Plan Coordinator:
Michele Hunt mhunt@anansi.acstaos.org

SAT Coordinator:
Nancy Stotts nscotts@anansi.acstaos.org

bubbles staff4

bubbles staff5

bubbles staff6


"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." 
– Margaret Mead


 

 

“Our vision is to be a public community school that educates the heart and mind of each learner to ensure success.”

“The mission of Anansi Charter School is to develop the academic potential and emotional intelligence of each learner. We strive to promote the love of learning through student engagement, innovative educational practices and family and community partnerships.”

© 2017 Anansi School. All rights reserved.
View Older Website Here

LATEST NEWS

NEWSLETTER SIGNUP

To receive our newsletter, please sign up below to add your email to our mailing list.

Terms and Conditions
* We don’t share your information with anyone.